OxICFM CDT Management Team

Stacks Image 203


Simon Aldridge

Simon has been an independent academic for 20 years. During that time he has published >190 papers/patents, supervised 30 doctoral students and 28 post-doctoral research associates (PDRAs) and been awarded a number of prizes for synthetic inorganic chemistry (RSC Frankland Award 2018, RSC Main Group Chemistry Award 2010, Dalton Transactions European Lecturer 2009). He has held visiting professorships at Monash and HKBU. His research interests are in the synthesis and applications of main group and organometallic compounds. He is a tutorial fellow at the Queen's College.

Stacks Image 225

Associate Director
Student Experience

Jose Goicoechea

Jose began his independent academic career at Oxford in 2006. He has published >80 papers, supervised 13 doctoral students and 8 PDRAs, and been awarded a number of prizes for his contributions to synthetic inorganic chemistry (RSC Main Group Chemistry Award 2018, Organometallics Young Investigator Fellowship 2014, ICCC41 Rising Star Award 2014). His research interests focus on the synthesis and reactivity of main group and transition metal compounds. He holds a college teaching fellowship at Lady Margaret Hall.

Stacks Image 240

Associate Director
Course Content

Kylie Vincent

Kylie is a Professor of Inorganic Chemistry, and Fellow of Jesus College Oxford. Her research includes the application of spectroscopic and electrochemical methods for mechanistic studies of small-molecule activation in biology, and applications of enzyme catalysis in chemical synthesis. She is a graduate of the University of Melbourne, Australia (BA/ BSc(Hons), Ph.D.) and has worked in Oxford since 2002 when she joined Fraser Armstrong’s group as a postdoctoral researcher and held an RJP Williams Junior Research Fellowship at Wadham College. In 2007 she took up a Royal Society University Research Fellowship and was appointed Associate Professor in 2013 and Professor in 2017.

Stacks Image 255

Associate Director
Industry Liaison

Charlotte Williams

Charlotte began her independent academic career in 2004 at Imperial College London and in 2016 she moved to Oxford University. During this time she has published >130 papers and is an inventor on >30 patents. She has supervised >25 DPhil students and 40 postdoctoral researchers. Her work has been recognised by prizes including the Macro Group UK Medal for Polymer Science (2019), the Otto Roelen Medal of Dechema and the German Catalysis Society (2018), the Sir John Meurig Thomas Medal for Catalysis (2017), the RSC Corday Morgan Medal (2016) and the Women in Science and Technology Tech Start-Up Award (2015). She investigates catalysts that transform renewable resources into polymers and dense energy carriers. She applies inorganic chemistry to activate carbon dioxide, to control polymerization processes and to make nanoparticles.

Stacks Image 270

Associate Director
Assessment and Feedback

Michael O'Neill

Michael is a Departmental Lecturer in Inorganic Chemistry. He holds a PhD in the mechanistic biochemistry of organometallic anticancer agents from Cambridge. His research now focuses on students’ experiences of learning Chemistry in Higher Education. His first textbook Assigning Inorganic NMR Spectra was released in late 2019.

Stacks Image 285

Programme Manager

Maitane Fernández

Maitane obtained her PhD in Organic Chemistry at the University of the Basque Country, Spain. She then moved to LMU-Munich first and Oxford Chemistry next, where she held postdoctoral research positions and explored several organometallic techniques and metal catalysed reactions. In 2017, Maitane moved into research administration as a programme manager for the Synthesis for Biology and Medicine CDT, where she gained extensive knowledge and experience that she will now be applying to the OxICFM CDT.